Vintage Easter Basket with The Graphics Fairy & Dollar Tree!

Paper Victorian Craft at Merry Makery!

 

I was so excited when I shared my first little creation with The Graphics Fairy and they asked me to submit it for consideration!  That alone was such a compliment!  I love using her graphics because they are, of course beautiful, but also very clean to work with.  My creation doesn’t really deserve a full tutorial because it is so simple but I will give you a quick run down of what I did and if you have questions, feel free to ask!

Our local dollar store just launched their Spring line and so shopping I went.  For this project I bought:
Floral Foam Block
A thin basket
Plastic moss rocks
Moss
Mini glitter eggs
Artificial flowers
Polka-dot ribbon

I already had:
Glitter
Glue gun and sticks
Glue stick
Popsicle sticks

Here is how I did it!

First I visited The Graphics Fairy and used found this really sweet vintage rabbit!  I wanted to make a double-sided rabbit so that his beauty could be seen in front and also through the small French mirror I placed behind him so I made one copy using card stock and then flipped him horizontally and created a second.  I used the Cameo Silhouette to cut my rabbits but you can easily cut these by hand with little effort.  Once I had this done I glued the two pieces back to back with a popsicle stick glued into the bottom center so that I could poke him into the foam.  If you are a perfectionist and don’t like that they sides aren’t perfect, then once he is assembled just run a little glue along the edges and add a small amount of glitter all the way around to hide imperfections from cutting.  Easy.

Next:

Glue the floral foam into the basket centered.
Use the plastic wrap from the packaging to shove into each empty space on each side of the foam as this will save using too much moss.  I used two bags  of moss for this project.
Glue your plastic moss rocks into place with the glue gun.  Play with the position of the rocks until you find a look you like.  Just make sure that you keep the area clear where you want Mr. Rabbit to sit!
Glue the moss around the rocks until you get a landscape look you enjoy while making sure that the floral foam is completely covered.
Add your Graphics Fairy rabbit by pressing the popsicle stick gently into the foam.
Add your touches last.  For this piece I used glitter eggs and artificial carnations.  I arranged them until I found a look I loved and then glued them all into place.
Last I created “The perfect bow” found all over pinterest and added one to the front and back of the rabbit just for a bit of whimsy.
If the moss mess bothers you then you can spray a little hairspray around to keep it in place.

Total time for the project was about 1 hour.  I made Mr. Rabbit one night and the second night created his landscape.  I really hope you enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Vintage Easter Basket with The Graphics Fairy & Dollar Tree!

  1. Pingback: Vintage Easter Basket with Rabbit - Reader Featured Project - The Graphics Fairy

  2. Pingback: 11 DIY Easter Crafts - The Graphics Fairy

Leave a Reply

